## **RESOLUTION NO. 24-08**

## **RATTLESNAKE FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT**

## **RESOLUTION TO SET MILL LEVIES**

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the Rattlesnake Fire Protection District has adopted the annual budget in accordance with the Local Government Budget Law, on November 25, 2024 and;

WHEREAS, the amount of money derived from ad valorem property taxes necessary to balance the budget for general operating expense is \$1,585,071 and;

WHEREAS, the District Board of Directors referred a ballot issue question to the electors of the District asking for authority to increase or decrease the District's ad valorem mill levy to account for changes in the method by which assessed valuation is calculated under the Gallagher Amendment to the Colorado Constitution and that such ballot issue question was approved by the electors of the District; and

WHEREAS, for fiscal year 2025, in order to secure property tax revenues which are neither diminished nor enhanced by application of the Gallagher Amendment to the Colorado Constitution, the District Board of Directors desires to adjust the District mill levy in the manner shown on Exhibit A, attached hereto and made a part hereof by this reference; and

WHEREAS, the 2024 valuation from Elbert County for assessment for the District, as certified by the Elbert County Assessor, is \$151,507,480.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Directors of the Rattlesnake Fire Protection District:

1. That for the purposes of meeting all general operating expenses of the District during the 2025 budget year, there is hereby levied a tax of 10.462 mills upon each dollar of the total valuation for assessment of all taxable property within the District, to raise \$1,585,071 in revenue.

2. That the Finance Manager, Treasurer or President of the District, is hereby authorized and directed to certify to the County Commissioners of Elbert County, Colorado, the mill levy for the District as hereinabove determined and set, not later than December 15, 2024.

Adopted this 25th day of November, 2024.

President